Suryakumar Yadav scored his first half-century of IPL. (IPL photo)

Mumbai Indians: Five-time winner Mumbai Indians in IPL-2023 defeated the current winner Gujarat Titans by 27 runs at their home Wankhede Stadium on Friday. Batting first, Mumbai scored 218 runs losing five wickets. Suryakumar Yadav, one of its main batsmen, took Mumbai to this point. Suryakumar scored the first century of his IPL career in this match. But this is the fourth century of his T20 career. One thing has remained common in these four centuries of Suryakumar.

Suryakumar has scored three centuries in International T20 cricket. He has scored centuries in T20 against England, Sri Lanka and New Zealand and then he scored a century against Gujarat. In the match against Gujarat, Suryakumar scored an unbeaten 103 off 49 balls with the help of 11 fours and six sixes.

read this also- Suryakumar Yadav’s century and then Rashid’s fight, Mumbai won the match

Strong strike rate

Suryakumar scored 117 runs in 55 balls against England, 111 not out in 51 balls against New Zealand, 112 runs in 51 balls against Sri Lanka. One thing has remained common in all these three innings and in the innings played against Gujarat. Suryakumar has scored runs at a strike rate of more than 200 in these four innings. He scored against England at a strike rate of 212. At the same time, against New Zealand, he scored runs at a strike rate of 217.64.

Against Sri Lanka, he scored runs at a strike rate of 219.40 and now against Gujarat also his strike rate has been more than 200. In this match, Suryakumar has scored runs at a strike rate of 210.20.

read this also- Why Sachin started copying a shot of Surya

Century came after 2014 for Mumbai

This century of Suryakumar is the first century for Mumbai after 2014 in IPL. In 2014, Lendl Simmons scored a century for Mumbai. Suryakumar is the fifth batsman to score a century for Mumbai in IPL. Before him, Sanath Jayasuriya (2008), Sachin Tendulkar (2011), Rohit Sharma (2012) and Lendl Simmons (2014) scored centuries in IPL for Mumbai.

Apart from the opener, Suryakumar has come second in the list of batsmen who have scored the most centuries in T20. Suryakumar has four T20 centuries. Before him is Riley Russo of South Africa, who has six centuries in T20. Russo is playing with Delhi Capitals in IPL but has not been able to do anything special. Apart from Suryakumar in this list, AB de Villiers, David Miller, Colin Ingram of South Africa. All of them have four centuries each in T20.

read this also- Surya scored his first IPL century in a special way

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *